Linguistics Presentation

Rhetoric, phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics, and psycholinguistics are all part of the linguistics track in the English major at IUP. In the presentation, all of these parts of linguistics were discussed in detail. I learned that the point of studying linguistics is to learn, and be interested in what people do with language.

What do people do with language? Poems are one example of how people use language. In the presentation, I enjoyed the use of “To His Coy Mistress” to explain the use of rhetoric in different forms of literature. For example, we discussed the importance of transitions such as “therefore,” and “by.” We first learned what rhetoric was: a more advanced study of language; “part of the Tritium.” This refers to grammar, rhetoric, and logic. We then applied this to the poem, “To His Coy Mistress.”

Out of all of the different parts f linguistics we discussed, I found phonology the most interesting. Based on symbols of the phonemic alphabet, phonology, or the study of how sounds actively function and are patterned in language, appeals to me because of words in general. When I was younger I always wondered what language was, why we understood it, and how they were composed. Why are words what they are? Why do we understand these compact sounds we call words? Why do we understand these complexities of words we call sentences? Or even languages? I was always curios how and why words were formed and why they were the way they were. Phonology is appealing to me and always has been.

Therefore, this part of the presentation was especially interesting to me. Throughout the presentation on linguistics, I learned many parts of the linguistics track and what it involved. Before I understood little regarding linguistics, now, after the presentation, I understand more of what is involved and have found that is appealing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

